A customer comes into the store and say they want a computer, a really nice expensive one…for the price that a big chain or online retail store could give them.  I said I would see what I can do…pretty stupid thing to say considering…

When people come in and say “I will shop local if you can be cheaper than the big chains.”  To make this point brief and blunt that will not happen, not unless the small business is on its way out.  The reason bigger chains can give cheaper prices is because they can call the vendor and say something like, “We will buy a million units if you sell them 40% off per unit.”  And usually they agree.  A small business calls and says, “I need three to six laptops for this month…”  Unless the vendor is trying to get rid of stock they sell at the full vendor price.  Here are some other fallacies that people have toward small businesses.

*  Unlimited Tech/Customer Support:

Small business want to help their customers, they really do, but they are finite people just like the rest of us.  Because I sold someone a blank CD a year ago does not obligate me now to go over to their house and fix their computer, TV and stereo system.

* Research:

This one is a zinger, someone might call and just blatantly say, “Tell me the prices of the 15 best computers, and programs for graphic editing and all the prices.” and hang up, we do the research which takes a decent chunks of time (and in-between when customers are not in the store) present the information to the customer and they turn around and give that information to another store to get a few measly dollars off.  We basically did research that they were not willing to do and would even go so far as to con a small business into doing that.

* Warranties:

There is a difference in what the store will offer and the manufacturer will offer.  And it is an Apple device of any kind you will have to deal with Apple, they control it, sorry that is the way it is.

* I will help-shop-deal local if you… :

When I hear this I cringe, it basically means that is I want their business I have to make a $500 product a $300 product, and if they buy it at the discount then they are doing me the favour, but really the business is just hurt.  I like helping people out I like going above and beyond to the best of my abilities and amount of sleep I have…

Okay Just a little vent…sometimes you have a bad week and others time a good week…Here is an interesting quote:

“People use drugs, legal and illegal, because their lives are intolerably painful or dull. They hate their work and find no rest in their leisure. They are estranged from their families and their neighbors. It should tell us something that in healthy societies drug use is celebrative, convivial, and occasional, whereas among us it is lonely, shameful, and addictive. We need drugs, apparently, because we have lost each other.
(pg. 61, “Racism and the Economy”)”
― Wendell Berry, The Art of the Commonplace: The Agrarian Essays of Wendell Berry

