I struggle a lot everyday, I struggle to wake up in the morning, I struggle to get excited for the day, I struggle to stay positive dealing with customers or getting more tasks from my boss and co-workers.  I really struggle with the fear of mediocrity.  That I will wake up at a future date and lament that I did not do more, or try harder or kept at it.  How do I combat this?

Reading,  reading is the constant that recharges me when my batteries for life are low and drained.  Reading energizes my mind with information, examples of acts well done, and possibilities for myself that I have not yet imagined.   It combats the endless negativity that is the norm in everyone’s sayings and mentalities.  Reading is an amazing thing since you can fully control what you read and how to internalize that information.

I just finished reading “The Templeton Plan” a book on success written in 1987, which many of the same principles were in a book by Dave Ramsey titled “Entreleadership”.  I also read “Quitter” by Jon Acuff about using your day job to reach your dreams.  Not all the books I read where business inspiration, before these books I read “Fight Club”, “Choke” and “Survivor” by Chuck Palahniuk.  They were a little gritty, but still activated my mind to viewing life through a different lens than my own.

Then before that I think I was reading the first Harry Potter book and then I got part way through the second and then lost interest…and I am trying hard to read the Bourne Identity book, but it is a really long one, and much different than the movie that I saw multiple times before ever obtaining the book.

If you struggle with a lot of thing like I do, start reading, and probably more so of the inspirational books that will help you out of your funks.  But reading at all does wonders for the body and mind.  Let me know of any good books that you come across.

