This book was lent to me by a sweet older lady who I was teaching how to use an iPhone and iTunes, we somehow got on the topic of finances and investments and she found that I was extremely weary of risk.  She lent me two books and then left for the States for the winter!  One of those books was called “The Templeton Plan 21 Steps to Success and Happiness.

Minutes after starting this book I decided to make a mind map on Thinking Space (the Android app) and was good too because I had a lot of notes to take.  This book was a shot of adrenaline into my stagnating self improvement regiment that I have neglected from time to time.  Such simple concepts such as “Using what you have” and “Putting first things first” liberated my mind to focus and not worry so much.

Strangely enough it seemed like a very light read, I was able to finish it in three days only devoting a lot of time to it on the third day.  The book took endless examples from the life of John Marks Templeton, which the lady who lent this book actually heard speak a few times in person.  The book was published in 1987 when I was only 3 years old!

The whole experience around this book has been a fascinating one, and the book is well worth the read, every bit as good as the Dave Ramsey and Dan Miller books I have read before for financial and business inspiration.

Here are some quotes that I have gleaned from this great book:

“The most wonderful thing we can experience is the mysterious.  It is the source of all art and science.  He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead; his eyes are closed.”

– Albert Einstein

“Nobody can think straight who does not work.  Idleness warps the mind.  Thinking without constructive action becomes a disease.”

– Henry Ford

“Most careers are made or marred in the hours after supper.”

– C.R. Lawton

It is really hard to describe all the benefits of this book without copying the content word for word, so just read it, funny to think that an older books is every bit as helpful as any of the newer books…

