It has always amazed me that when I did something that I have been avoiding…it was much easier than I thought it would be.  And even after I learn how to do something and have to do it again later I tend to think that I need ample time to do the task…then I am again surprised how easy it was.

When my wife and I lived in Salt Lake City, we had a tiny studio apartment, and the dishes always stacked up, and we would play games and make bets on who had to do the dishes.  One day my wife had school and I had the entire day off, so I was going to be really sweet and do the dishes without being asked!  This would be an all day venture so I got a frosty soda, some music playing and braced myself to be elbow deep in suds (this story may have more meaning if I told you we didn’t have a dishwasher…and still don’t).  I got cranking away and then ran out of dishes!  It took me all of 15 minutes to do all the dishes, half an hour if you include the “getting prepped and ready” rituals.  So I did everything else around the house and then got that done in an hour (including laundry) within the hour…and it hit me, what a PANSY I have been, all this tasks that I run from like a little cry baby took little time and little effort.

Again I was extremely surprised when helping my brothers on trucks, you got a simple chassis that would make you think of a toy car, then the cab and bed are just slapped on!  Well it is more involved than that, but you can visually see what the engineers were starting from and had you have to start over again, you could make incremental progress in building a decent car (the engine and transmission would be a little tricky…)

I believe the thing that makes life, tasks, growth, etc, difficult is the refusal to muddle through things.  This last Sunday I was told that I would be teaching the Sunday school lessons about a minute before I had to do so….we were reviewing the New Testament….and I basically went on to teach about muddling through things would have the Lord be more please with us than not trying at all.  Quoted scripture from the Old Testament instead…but still I taught the lesson and people actually said they learned something from it.

Another important thing to do to help make things less difficult is doing them when they need to be done, the trick I use when I want to procrastinate is to think, “Wow this really sucks and I don’t want to do it, but it will suck more and I will want to do it less when I absolutely have to do it and everyone is mad about it.”  Oddly enough when I do things in a timely fashion I feel good about doing it, once I changed the oil in my car and my truck the same day.  I was neglecting it with all my might, but when I finally did it I felt better about getting stuff done and using tools and not being such a lazy bugger that I wanted to do a few more oil changes….but no one needed my help sadly enough.

“For precept must be upon precept, precept upon precept; line upon line, line upon line; here a little, and there a little:”

Isaiah 28:10

