1.  Who gave you your first job? What kind of job was it? How much money did you make?

My first jobs that wasn’t just something oddball or for my parents was mowing lawns on a crew.  It was for a neighbour who ran such a business, basically I just mowed for a good portion of the day while others on the same crew mowed, weed wacked, and other small landscaping tasks. For some reason $4/hr is the figure I have in my head, but I think I made more than that here and there.

2.  From looking at your work life so far, what has been of the greatest value or worth?

This is a terrible question cause it makes me rather sad about my working career thus far.  But I have grown with each job that I have had.  I think dealing with people and giving them something of value from my work has been the thing of most value.

3.  If your job changes, does your purpose change?

No, usually the purpose of the job is to get the money, then my purpose is funded by that money…the sad thing is that so much time is in work that it should be tied into my purpose.

4.  Do you think your current job will exist five years from now?

Hard to say, retail will always be around, maybe not the retail I’m in be there will always be retail…(I hope I don’t look stupid if vending machines take over all retail in the next five years.).

5.  What would be the key characteristics of an ideal job or career?

Something where the pay was based solely on results, with the freedom to work and stay up late or do whatever work was necessary when it was necessary, I would like to be able to move around, it gets really boring staying in one thing all the time.

6.  When you daydream, what do you see yourself doing?

Advising people, writing, be creative with technology, going on business trips to neat expos, doing podcasts, online videos…and sometimes, building neat robots…hey the question wants and honest answer.  Basically attacking a problem with technology and coming up with a neat solution…then moving on.

7.  What have been the happiest, most fulfilling moments of your life?

Honestly…when a happiest moments question come up I think to when my wife and I were watching “The Big Bang Theory” in our room, and I would be so excited to watch I would kick my legs in bed and my wife thought I was silly.  I don’t know why that is a happiest moment…maybe everything in life was going great at the time.  Besides this is loaded question…hope wife and kids don’t read this and think I am a jerk…

But what I am I to pull away from this….I may have to revisit this question…

8.  If nothing changed in your life in the next 5 years, would that be OK?

Absolutely not! Not even a little bit, I have stalled and become stagnant on paying off debt, I don’t get out enough, I don’t get enough sleep, I have not published a book, and other than a great wife and kids, no dreams have been realized.  It would be the worse thing ever if nothing changed.  I would be more happy to back track to a few years ago when my family and I were making progress in a lot of different ways.

