1.  In today’s rapidly changing work environment, is it realistic to expect a job to provide more than just a paycheck?

I know for someone who is successful the answer should be yes, you should expect more than a paycheck, but there have been many occasions that the paycheck is the only thing going for the job.  It is odd though that I got more satisfaction from my gas station jobs than from many others…

2.  Have you ever had a sense of calling in your life?  How did you hear that calling?

At times I have, right now I do not feel very called, just treading water, doing just enough to get by.  Some days I feel motivated and others, just plain sleepy.

3.  Does God call only a few people?

No he calls everyone, but he knows that many will not heed the call, or even know the call when it comes. I think he would be please if people are trying to heed said call even if they are not supposedly successful.

4.  Is it reasonable to expect our work to be part of the fulfillment of out calling?

It is reasonable, and if anyone expects any fulfillment in their life they will absolutely have to tie it to their work, work takes up the majority of your day, and even if you have time at night, your energy and intelligence has been burned up to some degree throughout the day.  It is not just reasonable it is mandatory!

5.  Do you currently have a job, a career, or a vocation?

I don’t really know, often it feels like a job, but I am glad to get the experience of ordering from vendors and managing other business aspects that I would have never got to do in the city. 

6.  What does success mean for you this year?

Finally an easy one!  Success will be defined by getting out of debt, that is the one goal for 2012, to be debt free, I am ramping up for the summer, will work 4, 5 or 6 jobs if I have to.  I don’t have much debt, but it is kicking my butt left and right.  Easiest word for me to define this year will be success.

7.  Are you where you thought you’d be at this stage in life?

Nope.

8.  Do you go home at night with a sense of meaning, purpose, and accomplishment?

Most often not really….if that makes any sense.  I often stay up late, writing or playing Starcraft 2…or making and Android or working on something that I think will increase my income for my family and I.

9.  If you want different results next year, what will you change in what you are doing now?

I think I need to change those things now anyhow, but I will have to stop drinking so much soda, and go to bed early and get up, also I will have to scout for second jobs during my lunch break.

