I downloaded this 3.3 gig .iso and installed it last night, completely installed over my latest Ubuntu install that took me two days to figure out and have ready to demo to people. I was thinking that it would be fun to check out for a little bit and then install something over it.  But I am still on Windows 8 typing up this blog post. So it was a lot better than I expected.

At first I was not happy that there was no start button, but if you hit the Windows key then you get the Metro start menu with live panels.  I have starting using Mail, Music, Pictures, Remote Desktop, and….of course…solitaire!

Better than I expected, I was able to install 32bit Microsoft Office 2010!  And not only that, but the office applications load in seconds.  I have never experienced such speed in powerful applications when I was using Windows 7.

Microsoft’s Live Writer 2011 was able to install with some support packages, so I am able to blog from the comfort of a native Windows application.

Starcraft 2 installed and works great, I played and even won the first game.  It seems to run smoother as well!

I am really excited about this release, it seems that they actually made it better, I imagine that they had to make it less bloated so as to run on tablets and phones and what not, but I am really impressed over all.

