This should be my family motto.  Not that we are jerks to each other all the time (there are those months…), but if we are on a constant pity party it is only a matter of time before you hear someone in my family or friends finally say, “Suck it up Princess!”  Even more unpleasant is when my older brother just half listens and says “Poor Michael, poor, poor Michael.”  Whenever the conversation hits a lull.  I was thinking one night that I really do need to suck it up, but I know that I will be gun ho for a few days and then I will burn out, and to-do apps only help so much, I need some way to gauge my habitual health, keep track of all those little things that need to be done daily for emotional, spiritual and financial health.

The idea slapped me in the face, it is so simple, we all know those graphics in computer and video games that show your health and your shields, I could make an app (I am thinking it through right now) that takes wither or not you did a habit or chore or what have you and based off the number it will have a widget on your android desktop that shows your health and shields!

My biggest problem is that when I have hope in something that I have done or in some situation to boost my income or improve my life and it falls apart, I tend to shut down and literally do nothing for a period of time, making things worse until I finally just suck it up and do all the little things that will bring me back to full steam.

The app will have a check list with the following items:

  • Wake up on time (whatever that might be) +1
  • Brush teeth morning +1
  • Read Scriptures +1
  • Reading something good +1
  • Working out for an hour (must be at least an hour) +1
  • Breakfast +1
  • Lunch +1
  • Dinner +1
  • Chore 1 +1
  • Chore 2 +1
  • Chore 3 +1
  • Did not waste time (especial to starting something leisurely and allowing it take up too much time) +1
  • Go to bed on time +1
  • Brush teeth night +1
  • Self improvement +1
  • Abstaining from an addiction +1
  • Multiday project +1
  • Write in Journal +1
  • Did not complain (this is harder than you think!) +1
  • Work hard, honestly and diligently at your employment +1
  • Did something social +1
  • Morning prayer +1
  • Night prayer +1
  • Couples prayer  +1

 

This is something tailored to a religious person, but the principle of the app is universal.  Also these items are really tailored to me, but I think that everyone can benefit from making sure they do all of these things.  The biggest benefit I see from this is that you have a graphically representation that will let you know how you are doing, is your little game character struggling and almost dead?  If so, why?  Then just start doing those little things.  I am not a person that will say if you are busy you are successful, but this little things are not much and they make a huge impact on your day to day living, I know that some things hold more weight than others but why not try to get them all in your habits?

The tricky part to this app is that it will calculate your health by tallying the last 7 days, since little things need to be habits and good things done for yourself have a short shelf life, but if you have been good at doing them over the last week you are more built up to take on life for the present day, and if you slack the prior weeks cannot help you, just the last seven days.

I am really excited about this app and hope that it is a big help to me and to anyone else trying to fight the mediocrity of their own lives.  Yes all these things might seem mediocre themselves, but how much worse is it when we do not do these things?

Is there anything I should add to that list?  Anything I should take away?  Any app suggestions for this particular app?  I have not even started it yet, but the planning phase is exciting so I think the whole app will awesome!  Thanks for reading!

